top of page

Conversation with a Coworker


“What is that?”

I glance up to find my coworker’s face a few inches away from my own, squinting as she tries to make out my chicken-scrawl handwriting.

I quickly move my hand to cover the page.

“You don’t want to know, trust me.”

She rolls her eyes.

“Well, I just asked you what it was, didn’t I? Obvs I want to know.”

I refrain the urge to tell her that “obvs” is not a word at all, no it isn’t, check it up, it is not a word. Instead, I push my glasses up my nose and lean over the paper again.

“Just something I’m writing.”

“For college?”

“No.”

“So for what?”

I glare at her, but she doesn’t seem fazed.

“For myself.”

“Ooh, like a to-do list?”

“No, not like a to-do list.”

She waits. I sigh heavily.

“I write. I’m a creative writer.”

Her eyes widen.

“Wow, that is legit cool! You write poetry?”

“Legit,” I say, after a long silence, “is not a word. Check it up. And no, I do not write poetry. Poetry is for people who think they’re deep and are really, really not.”

She looks offended.

“I like poetry.”

“Thank you,” I say, returning to my writing, “for proving my point.”

She’s quiet for a moment, trying to figure out whether she was just insulted.

“So, if you don’t write poetry, what do you write?”

“Fiction.”

“Fiction. I know what that is, I think. So, you, like, make up stories and stuff like that? Like Yael Mermelstein or Riva Pomerantz?”

“Mm-hmm.”

Apparently, monosyllabic responses are not enough to scare this girl off.

“So, you’re in the middle of writing a book now? Ooh, is it going to be published with, like, a cool cover and everything! Will I be able to buy it in stores?”

With all the dignity and cold fury I can muster, I turn to her, my nostrils flaring and jaw clenched.

“Yes, I am in the middle of writing a book now. As to its publication, I have absolutely no idea whether or not it will be published. If it is then, yes, you will be able to buy it in a store. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I would like to continue my writing.”

And with that, I returned to my first draft. Something was definitely wrong with that sentence, why would he have done that when—

“What’s your story about?”

I sighed.

“Itisahistoricalfictionaboutapilgrimgirlwhoiswashedaboardadesertedislandafterfallingoffthemayflowerandneedstouseherwitsandinstinctstosurvive.”

She thinks about this for a while, her brow furrowed.

“Weird.”

“Yes,” I say in exasperation, folding up the paper and shoving it into my bag. It is obvious I am not going to get any work done as long as this girl hangs around asking stupid questions. “It is very weird.”

“Why do you do it, then?”

“Why?” I ask incredulously. “Why?”

“That’s what I asked.”

I look at her for several long moments.

“Because I want to,” I say.

Then I stand up, bag in hand, and walk out the door.


bottom of page